Haikography

By JanBee

Ely

In shadowed cloisters,
No angels with wings aflame -
Sweet gentle light falls.



24 hours late blipping this .... back home now (Monday), but Sunday was spent in Ely visiting the beautiful medieval cathedral. I have always wanted to go here as my Mum was stationed nearby in the war and always said how wonderful it was. She was right. Although grand and awe inspiring, it is somehow gentle and intimate.... at least that's how it felt to me. maybe it's the use of wood, especially in the magnificent lantern tower .... (see 55daisies super blip of this).

I took a a lot of pictures, some of which weren't bad - but somehow this resonated with me. It was a quiet corridor (possibly not a technically a cloister!) leading to the Lady Chapel, I just loved the simplicity of the windows (no blingy stained glass, just clear and very pale greens and yellows) and the shadows ....

After cathedral wandering and pub lunch we went back to listen to Choral evensong, which was blissfully beautiful - there's nothing quite like a choir of pure voices joining together in such a wonderful space.

I loved Cambridge and I love this cathedral and will definitely be back.

pics from trip here

In other news .... my cambridge bicycle shadows hit the spotlight ... I don't know how spotlight works anymore but am very honoured!

I am really sorry to have been so rubbish at keeping up with people lately .... I really appreciate people dropping by and commenting and I will catch up as soon as I can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.