CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

gifts

My garden gave me a gift today. Actually there were many of them. Some lovely stones. The exercise in digging them up and many of their cohorts. My first tulip of the season and the promise of many more. Fresh air and sunshine variable weather but enough of it dry to mow most of the yard. Chatting with neighbors and a song fight between two tiny but loud tweety birds. I am proud to say that the winner is in my yard. But the gift I cherish most today was this nest that would fit in your two cupped hands. I was digging dandelions beneath some arborvitae and there it sat as perfect as the day the young left the nest last summer. It was on the ground simply waiting for me to dig up some weeds before they began to bother other folks. I don't know if I will keep it for long, but it is a pretty and perfect little thing and I can only imagine the tiny size the eggs must have been.

So sorry that I have been so negligent. Work has had crazy hours and the nature of it says that it is the one place I may not take photos that go out on the web no matter how wonderful or poignant. This month I will have more daylight hours for photography and my hard work this winter is finally paying off. So many times this month I have thought, " that will be a blip when it comes up,when it blooms, soon...soon...soon... Spring has finally sprung, here in the Northwest and I can hear the faintest whispers of the onset of summer...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.