CarrieEllenA

By CarrieEllenA

It Plays a Fooly Game

In the spring after the first bloom of flowers the new leaves unfurl in this brilliant red and look like a new set of blossoms on the bush. It is its April Fool. Often, as this year, the camellia flowers get rained out and look tattered by the March storms, but the pieris makes up for it by pretending a second coming of its springtime display.

On my daily walk about the garden I found 2 new hostas beginning to peek their leafy noses out of the ground. these are supposed to be of a bluish hue. the others are variegates of green and yellow. All of them are welcome. I have also noticed some trillium beginning to come out. Whether these are the red or the white it is a bit soon to tell. I have never seen red trillium blooming but I look forward to their coming to grace the space underneath my pines. They LIKE the acid soil and shady spaces and should do well as long as I keep them watered
My all your surprises today be as welcome. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.