She sells sea-shells...

on the sea-shore.
The shells she sells are sea-shells, I'm sure.
For if she sells sea-shells on the sea-shore
Then I'm sure she sells sea-shore shells.

Something that not a lot of people know about is.. I collect shells. Sorry I can't name these ones as I don't know, one day I well learn more about them.

From a very early age I collected shells as I just liked them, most of these ones I was given. My father would take over to Pigeon Bay a lot as he was born there and we had a lot of relatives over there and I would walk along the beach collecting shells. Nowadays you hardly find any!

Tongue-twisters may rely on rapid alternation between similar but distinct phonemes (e.g., s and sh ), unfamiliar constructs in loanwords, or other features of a spoken language in order to be difficult to articulate. For example, the following sentence was claimed as "the most difficult of common English-language tongue-twisters" by William Poundstone.
The seething sea ceaseth and thus the seething sea sufficeth us.

This type of tongue-twister, She sells sea-shells...was incorporated into a popular song in 1908, with words by British songwriter Terry Sullivan and music by Harry Gifford. It was said to be inspired by the life and work of Mary Anning. A slight variant replaces "on" with "by".
For more info on tongue-twisters.

Thankyou all for all you support and kind words over the past 365 blips ..and once again a big thankyou to Flying who introduced me to blipfoto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.