Scribbler

By scribbler

Life and taxes

Flowers outside my tax preparer's office. Another year done and dusted!

Another month gone.
Time passes swiftly when you're having fun ... and even when you're not.

Major breakthrough on my novel! I have finally figured out a way to deal with the tricky questions of chronology in the opening chapters. Now all I have to do is implement the plan, which will be (comparatively speaking) a piece of cake. This was unbelievably hard.

I read an interview with R. Crumb, the great cartoonist, in which he talked about his four-year venture to illustrate every word of the Book of Genesis. He said, "I just knew that I had to get through it. I compared it to laying tracks for the Trans-Siberian Railway. It was long, it was the longest thing I ever did by far."
That's how I feel about my novel.


Back blips:

March 27 Art of war
March 28 Fishy
March 29 Umbrella
March 30 Petals


-------------------
POETRY NOTE

April 1 is the start of NaPoWriMo, the chance to write a poem a day for a month. I might be out of my mind to try blipping AND working on my novel AND writing a poem every day. But I'm thinkin' about it.

Here's a poem I wrote about creativity.

“On the Relative Harmlessness to Society of Being an Artist”

I might have been Pandora,
spreading misery and grief,
or the one who started starfish
chewing up the Barrier Reef.

I might have been a Borgia
offering poison in a rose,
or a captainette of industry
firing merger foes.

I might have been an Eva Braun
fueling Hitler’s furor,
or the soldier son of Enola Gay
dropping atomic horror.

Yet I just sit and stare awhile,
then daub a bit or scribble.
Art may not save the human race,
but keeps me out of trouble.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.