Don't fence me in

Sure enough Séamus and Barney wanted the TV on for coverage from Croke Park. A tall nurse came in and switched it on, and so the slippery slope began. I went out to the main entrance to get away from it, and I wasn't too long back after a bit of a hang-around there when Carl arrived. We chatted about what to do about the aftermath of cancellation of our Berlin trip, and considered the possibility of going to somewhere nice and warm when the medical team give me the all-clear after surgery.

There was some agro in the ward afterwards between those who wanted the TV on and those who didn't, until the situation was resolved by one of the visitors turning it off because it was causing stress to his father.

I was beginning to feel tired by the time the last of my visitors left, and had actually laid back before the night nurse came round to check blood pressure and hand out tablets. She said she thought I looked a bit down, first said she 'might' give me a sleeping tablet, and then changed that might to a definite when it came for tablet time. So I settled down for the night's rest much earlier than usual, and without even thinking of watching a DVD. (Speaking of DVDs, I finished watching Steven Spielberg's Duel earlier in the day, and watched the bonus interview with him about the making of it -- a bit on the long side, I thought, though interesting in spots.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.