Cold Sweets Seller

One of the teachers had a birthday today so a few of us went for dinner. I sat in the restaurant eating my FAVOURITE meal.. Hot Pot and watched this man sitting outside on the footpath selling his wares. It was cold and he just sat there reading a book.. A lady on a moped stopped and bought one but no one else.

He is selling candy covered fruit.. Mostly grapes or small apples and occasionally (ewww) tomatoes covered in the same hard candy as (what we in Australia call) a toffee apple or some, maybe a candy apple. How hard is his life? To support himself and maybe a family, he sits here hour after hour reading a book in the cold and selling (for one yuan) his candied fruit.

I sat there in sheer admiration of him. Because we think our lives are tough. The Chinese at the table didn't quite understand why I admired him so much because it's so normal here. Well done my man..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.