Memories

My hutch dresser was taken away this afternoon. I try not to get too attached to 'things' but this one I loved. I searched high and low on the internet, looking for the 'right one'. JL and I went to pick it up (along with my rocking chair) from a farm. We got lost on our way there, eventually locating it and bringing it home.

It stood in the garage for a while until JL organised me and we decided to paint it. We went to the local Resene shop, with a piece of my kitchen cabinetry for a colour match. It took a few mixtures, but we managed to get it right.

This beauty has stood in my kitchen for the past four years or so and has looked for all the world like a part of it. The place is feeling less and less like home for me now; I know Rae is feeling the same way.

Tomorrow night, the sofa is going. I've sold most of my stuff and the house is getting emptier each day.

Another busy day ahead, with an early morning vet visit for Pio. Always fun trying to get him into his carry cage!

I have photographed this today to remind me of the laughter JL and I had while we were beautifying it and so that DB and I will know what to look for when we are searching for its replacement in Oz.

As Helen Keller said. “When one door of happiness closes, another opens; but often we look so long at the closed door that we do not see the one which has been opened for us.”

Onwards and upwards then.

~Barking~

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.