The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

Smokey 1656 hr

Up with the times.

Having dropped over a week behind I hope to be posting a couple of blips a day for the next few days to catch up.

L.
2.4.2014 (1254 hr)

Blip #1219
Consecutive Blip #081
Day #1458
Smokey #219

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Grace Jones - Private Life (1980)
For her album Warm Leatherette, Grace Jones teamed up with producers Chris Blackwell and Alex Sadkin at Compass Point Studios in the Bahamas. The session players were the Compass Point Allstars, including Sly and Robbie, Wally Badarou, Barry Reynolds, Mikey Chung and Uziah "Sticky" Thompson.
The song first appeared on the first album by the Pretenders in 1979. Chrissie Hynde is quoted as saying, "Like all the other London punks, I wanted to do reggae, and I wrote Private Life. When I first heard Grace's version I thought 'Now that's how it's supposed to sound!' In fact it was one of the highpoints of my career - what with Sly and Robbie being the masters, and Grace Jones with her scorching delivery. Someone told me it was Chris Blackwell's idea - thanks Chris!"

One year ago: Fluffy Day One

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.