Neglect

'Should I let you just die?
Should I stand idly by as your very life
takes the ever ending plunge to total oblivion?
Can I look at myself as you,
your memories,
disappear?
I listen to the dreams on the breeze
and hear generations call across the bowling green
of 'meet me at 8' and 'let's do the weekend!'
I see a wee lad breathing in the view
as he leaves to fight for King and country.
I see a man returned,
his faith in man restored by the normality
and simple pleasure of a game,
played for fun,
behind an ancient local pub.'

I pass this now disused and sadly slowly falling into disrepair bowling green several times a week. It is positioned behind the aptly named 'Bowl in Hand' pub and I swear I hear those voices I write about above.

See in the detail here the coat hangers waiting in the outdoor locker room for coats that will never return.

Neglect. How utterly devastating.

A X

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.