weewilkie

By weewilkie

The chair and the lonely daffodil.

The chair and the lonely daffodil sit outside a house and look onto the traffic mayhem of Govan Road. At the moment the road's been ripped apart and widened. Not much of a view at the best of times, and even less so the now. But that wasn't the thing that caught my eye as I went on my lunchtime jaunt. What made me look twice was something to do with them both facing the same direction. Rather than being passive still objects in the environment they had the slightly unnerving effect of seeming to be actively observing what passed them by. Like a couple of old mates commenting and slagging off everyone that comes under their scrutiny.

I realise that this is just the anthropomorphic fancy footing of my own imagining. They are both facing the same way because they are both looking for the sun. But, again, if there were two daffodils beside the chair it would have looked unremarkable. It's the single flower, usually found in groups, that pushes through the topsoil of the unremarkable and captures the eye. It's almost like a wee dug sitting attentively beside its owner. And this forces the eye and the mind into the empty chair and who would sit on such a chair this close to a very busy Govan Road just for a bit of sunshine.

So, these two are actively watching, as I am actively watching for something surprising in the day, in the mundane. I try not to over-think it, as I'm probably doing here and go with what appeals to my eye. This really did and, truth be told, I've no real explanation why.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.