weewilkie

By weewilkie

Tuesday Afternoon Music Club

Cause all we wanna do is have some fun ...
On Tuesday afternoon I run an after-school Guitar Club. I love it. I love seeing the kids sprouting musical feathers. Learning to fly inside a song or piece of music. It's very rewarding.
I'm actually not particularly good on the guitar, but I don't let that stop me for one moment. I like a strum and a song: just like this I did into my phone just before the bell went this morning.
It's one of the many deceptively simple and beautiful songs by Ron Sexsmith. It's called "Just My Heart Talking" and has this line in it that really resonates in me about the way I enjoy my music. It goes:

Trying to pass itself off as a song
That's just my heart talkin'


I love to sing and batter out a song that I connect with emotionally and that has some wee morsel of myself, or what I'm going through in it. It's great therapy. I get to vibrate in the sublime frequencies of music and song up there somewhere in the soul-sphere. And when I get aligned, which sometimes happens, it's as profound an answer to our existence as anything else. Only connect. And I never feel more connected than when I'm inside a song. In fact, what am I doing typing? I'm off for a communion with the Gods of wood and tightened wire. It's time to populate this city room with the frequencies of their choir.

AMEN.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.