My Best Efforts - Year 3

By AMC

Lunch with Anni .........

...........after an hour with the TIA consultant at Grantham Hospital.

Last Sunday I suddenly lost part of my vision in the lower quarter of my right eye. All indications that a migraine was on it's way. It didn't materialise - just a very slight headache and the eye felt heavy.

To cut a long story short, Opticians on Monday as vision not recovered, who suggested an emergency appointment with the GP who wasn't too happy but on the end agreed to see me and when I got there asked me why I hadn't called an ambulance on Sunday (!!!) - I replied that if I had sent for an ambulance every time I have has visual disturbance in the last 50 odd years, I would have been wasting their time as this has, in the past, just been telling me that a migraine was on the way!

Right, Tuesday - Eye Consultant at the dreaded Lincoln Hospital! (but she was very thorough and pleasant!)

Outcome, found a small blocked artery at the back of my eye - prognosis "It might repair itself, it might not but you have been very lucky as it is a small artery".

Later Tuesday afternoon, call from Grantham Hospital - TIA dept - please come in Wednesday morning. Lots of tests, a hour of consultation, more tests in the next few weeks but apparently "just keep on with the fresh tablets - Statins - and we will see you again in the near future!" Anni and I both liked the Doctor which was good. No one seemed unduly concerned or too worried which must be a good sign - well, I'm taking it as that anyway!!!

So, it has been a right old day one way and another but never mind, here I am blipping a Church which is just up the road from where we had lunch.

It was lovely to see Anni and hear bits regarding her exploits in the States and to receive a belated Mothers Day Gift in the form of a gorgeous stone coaster decorated with an enamelled dragon fly on a softly painted background. Also chocolate in a tin with a picture of Pittsburg on the lid - bought for the tin than the chocs. Pink Roses from Himself!

Have still managed a couple of quick BOUI for you :-

1) April the 2nd in 1962 a new kind of road crossing was opened outside Waterloo Station in London. It was called a panda crossing and was designed to be an improvement on the zebra crossing. Where the zebra crossing had black and white stripes across the road and Belisha beacons marking it out, the panda crossing had different stripes – diagonal rather than straight – stripes on the Belisha beacon poles (they were and are plain on the Belisha beacons used on zebra crossings) and, the main difference, a pair of light signals on the beacon pole in red and amber which had the word “Cross” displayed when appropriate.(If you can make head or tail of all that!!)

2) 2.4.1977: Hat trick for Red. Rum.
Red Rum has galloped into racing history by winning the Grand National for a record third time.

In spite a busy and somewhat stressful day, the sun has shone, the sky has sometimes been blue and it has stayed dry with the temperature in the low 50s F.

Have a good evening!










Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.