0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“Do you have a favourite?”
“Not really, I’m so covered in them that it’d be difficult to choose. This one here is loosely based on Mike Tyson’s tattoo. I took that as inspiration and designed something I was happy with. It’s not finished yet either, the artist still needs to fill in some of the empty areas.”



What a difference a day makes - today was cold with a supposed influx of air pollutants. Thankfully, I didn’t have to venture too far when I noticed Lee in the covered market, walking towards me, on the phone. I don’t stop people in that state, but I decided to see if he’d finish anytime soon so followed him a little and waited. It may have been a minute or so and he completed his call and was going down some steps, to the barbers I think, when I caught up with him.

Lee was a friendly chap, talking about how he has been asked for pictures before (no surprise there) and he often forgets the occurrences until one of his friends comes across them and points them out to him.

We discussed tattoos of course, and I asked him when he had started having them done. He told me that he was addicted to them, and mentioned he was in his early-twenties when he had his first one, and had consistently had new ones done over time. He even has old ones re-done, as some of his have tended to fade over time. It’s the quality of the ink and needle, and most importantly, the artist, he has learnt.


Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.