Remembering Happier Times

While trying to clear enough space in the office to get started on our tax return, I came across one of my old passports. I couldn't resist a quick thumb-through. Cynthia was looking over my shoulder and was fascinated by the variety of colorful visa endorsements.

I went to Damascus several times, and of all the places I visited, it's one of my favorites. The people were very friendly, and eager to talk to me on my walks around the city.

On one occasion I was with a colleague when we noticed a man selling drinks from a large tank carried on his back. Another man, noticing our curiosity, explained what the ingredients were and insisted on buying each of us a glass. The vendor pulled two glasses from loops on his belt, wiped them with a grubby rag and served us our drinks.

It would have been rude to refuse the offer, so we smiled, drank (it was very refreshing), said our thanks and hoped for the best. We suffered no intestinal distress later -- much to our surprise!

Cynthia showed me the photo in a recent National Geographic article about the conditions in Syria. The government was harsh and repressive when I was visiting, but it wasn't obvious to the casual visitor. I'm sad to see how bad things are now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.