Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Female Goosander Inverleith Park

Normally when I get down to Inverleith Park, it is overrun with kids heading to the nearest chippy to get their lunch. I managed to get to the park before them, just as I was busy at work. The dark light meant the camera had to work hard to get a decent shot.

This is the best of them on this dark day. A female Goosander, the male has a green head, had been under the boardwalk as I passed by. I must have spooked her as the bird dashed out across the pond.

The Goosander is a member of the sawbill family according to the RSPB website. First bred in Scotland in 1871, it spread across the country, and since 1970, can be seen in most of Scotland, the north and west of England all year round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.