Journey Through Time

By Sue

Garden Gnome

Garden Gnomes were hugely popular quite a few years ago, and these little gnomes were all over the place, so I had to have one, of course. This is a very small gnome and I always thought he was cute.

Some years ago, somebody stole a larger garden gnome, the kind that people put in their real life garden, and then the person or person's responsible for the theft took this gnome on a little trip to different places and then sent back post cards to the people they stole it from. This was on the news, and I thought it was kind of funny, but I don't think the gnome owners quite saw the humor. It was absolutely modeled after the Travelocity ads that uses a gnome in different places around the world. Or maybe the ad is modeled after the antics of the Garden Gnome Liberation Front. The stolen gnome was delivered back safely to the yard after seeing a bit of the world. I'm not sure if the one in the article (that I just now found - my gosh EVERYTHING is on the Internet) is the one I am thinking of, but it probably is. And now that I've read that article, I guess there is quite a community devoted to the freeing of garden gnomes. Who knew? Mine will be safely indoors, in the cupboard.

Usually I get a one week cold, but the one Bill and I have is the 2 week cold. It is nearly at the end of it's run and I'm feeling much better. Thanks for all your get well wishes.

See ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.