City Boy

By kwasi

It's Up and it's Straight!

It’s Up and it’s Straight!

Yesterday was stressful. I eventually managed to get one mirror up in our hall. I was unable to do the other and was unsure just what today might bring, given that we wanted to go into town to look for new lamps and our grandson was to come straight from school at 12, excited and on holiday for two and a half weeks.

I was given considerable advice. LadyMarchmont suggested putting the mirror on the mantelpiece rather than mounting it, but we do not have a mantelpiece in the dining room. PaulaJ suggested I was making excuses. I was crushed! Overthebridge19 reminded me that it was incredibly stressful for the wives of do-it-yourselfers. Being a do-it-yourselfer is not something I would normally be accused of being and it surely couldn’t be stressful for the wives of those who are a joy to behold and a treasure to cherish. As a result I was full of trepidation. Grit and determination won.

I set to, calmly and with perseverance, while J retyped report which had done yesterday but had lost on her laptop. She was concentrating intensely and I was trying to work giving no signs of stress or muttering expletives. I took great care in measuring marking, levelling and drilling. The rawl plugs went in, the screws followed, a pile of books was built up underneath to help with the weight and we hung the mirror. So far, so good and just as yesterday. We stepped back. We looked at the mirror. It was straight! Then we picked Lucas up. Of to Zizzi’s for lunch. He was excited, being 6 and on holiday, and so needed Appletiser (not allowed normally at home) and double ice cream. What are grandparents for?

The blip is to counteract the endless greyness, mist and rain that has embraced Edinburgh and to offer some colour and hope that Spring is underway. The flowers are all in the garden and bring some cheer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.