Treasure Everywhere

By RobT

Ol(y) Skool

Today I picked up my first 35mm film camera in probably about 20 years. A tenner on eBay - bargain. Although I've worked out how much film costs to buy and get developed, so maybe not so much a bargain... we'll see.

So this is an Olympus XA2, almost 35 years old but still working (I think). My learnings so far: when you only get 36 exposures, and you can't see what you're shooting, you slow down! You take fewer pics, and you take more time in framing each one.

Oh, and as I'm used to properly pushing down a shutter button, halfway to focus and all the way to take the pic, the hyper-sensitive shutter button - more of a touchpad actually - means that at least my first three shots were accidental!

Speaking of focusing, it's amazingly simple: three focus settings on a switch: near-middle-far. That's it! Less to go wrong :-)

Only time will tell whether the pictures are any good. I'm not used to this waiting lark.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.