Pecha Kucha style- Stirling

OK what’s your most embarrassing moment?

Well this evening I had been asked to take part in the monthly Pecha Kucha style event organised by
]Creative Stirling.

The formula is simple but rigid: you show 20 slides of your work and talk for 20 seconds about each.
So far so good. It’s a bit like writing your own obituary in my case.

Well the speaker to follow me was Scottish sculptor Kate Thomson married to Japanese sculptor Hironori Katagiri.

As the audience gathered for the evening I saw this Japanese man sitting there on his own.

Assuming he is Kate’s partner (how many Japanese men in Stirling would come to an event like this especially on a Friday night?) I go over and introduce myself saying how much I admired both Kate and his work in the grounds of Stirling University.

He smiles nodding politely, the way Japanese do. When I finish my babbling he says:

“ Excuse me. I am the Japanese Consul General.”

So…..what’s your most embarrassing moment?


Blip Pic: Kate Thomson doing her Pecha Kucha presentation.

Other speakers for the evening were Alasdir Gammack, Student Enterprise manager for Stirling University and George Anderson, Communications manager for Sistema Scotland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.