My First Cup of Coffee

Thanks to this man.

He runs a coffee shop out of the back of a little van beside the market in Hitchin every Saturday. Marley Coffee, a company set up by Bob Marley's son Rohan. I so wanted to photograph him and so to break the ice, I simply said that I so wished I drank coffee which is a truth. I've never drunk a cup in my life. Never got beyond a sip and a grimace. Clearly not a man to pass up a challenge he asked if he could make me a cup in an attempt to win me over. Not a man to pass up a challenge myself, I accepted his offer and then asked if I could take his picture. I needn't have worried. He is clearly no stranger to this request. In fact, one Hitchin based photographer has even given him a book of photos with a personalised cover with his mug shot on it.

Back to the coffee - I drank it whilst sitting on a park bench enjoying a brief spell of sunshine on an otherwise cloudy day and flicking through a book I had just brought. It was OK but I couldn't imagine yearning for a cup like I do with tea BUT, when I got home, I actually had a craving for another cup. How strange. I'm not going to do anything about it, but next week, I will drop by his stall, let him know that he has begun to win me over and buy a coffee from him.

Here is said cup of coffee being made

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.