The Problem, by Adrienne Rich

Lent, Day 28

The Problem, unstated till now, is how
to live in a damaged body
in a world where pain is meant to be gagged
uncured un-grieved-over The problem is
to connect, without hysteria, the pain
of any one's body with the pain of the body's world
For it is the body's world
they are trying to destroy forever
The best world is the body's world
filled with creatures filled with dread
misshapen so yet the best we have
our raft among the abstract worlds
and how I longed to live on this earth
walking her boundaries never counting the cost


So much to say about this, but as usual lately, racing to post my blip, whilst listening to all sorts around me - off in a minute to dinner at my daughter's, with sister and brother-in-law.

The question is - is it possible for us to live in a way that doesn't go on destroying our raft for ever?

The question is - when will the folk in charge wake up to the fact that this IS happening?

The question is - what can ordinary folk like us DO? My brother-in-law showed me a Youtube about the Robin Hood tax - what a great idea! Do sign the petition if you can.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.