Furry Bear Of A Bee Hugs A Flower

Gorgeous morning in Essex. Jazzy dog and I were out with the camera early. I photographed a tiny warbler that was saying, "Wit." I wasn't sure at the time if it was a chiff-chaff. Pretty confident now that I have done some research. I have read that their territory only covers about sixty square feet and I saw a similar bird in the same area later in the day saying, "Chiff-chaff."

I heard some gulls making a commotion and searched the sky for them. They were harrying a pair of buzzards. I got some mediocre shots.

Lots of different bees on the wing today. My pic is of a common carder bee I think. I love the intense blue of green alkanet flowers and positioned myself waiting for a bee to visit. This bumble bee seems to love them them as much as I do judging by the bear-hug. :) Alkanet is in the same family as borage and the flowers can be used to garnish drinks. I was surprised to learn today that it has been introduced to the UK.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.