Drill bits

Part of yesterday's tasks was to sort some stuff I keep within my laundry alcove. The shelves are tidy, sorted and stuff that was floating about is now in sturdy labelled containers.

One thing I came across was these old drill bits. I thought they'd come from friends of Mum and Dad's but I was delighted to discover today they are stamped with "A F PEARCE", Dad's name.

I don't recall how I came to have them and oddly they don't seem like his. These have bits of dirt and grit in the bits and Dad tends to keep things meticulously clean.

They live in a little metal box. The front opens from left to right on hinges. Inside are 2 rows of drill bits that fold out. Genius. They have much more class and character than any of my modern bits.

"Drill index" is stamped on the front along with Dad's name and "Frost & Co Ltd". You can still get Frost drill bits, maybe a legacy from the original English company.

I've just noticed "A F PEARCE" is also neatly scratched (not stamped) onto the back. I guess he trained and worked with some dodgy light fingered characters ;-)

Just for the record, I have enough drill bits to warrant keeping them in a 2L Tip Top ice cream container. Not bad for a girl ;-)

A bit of an interesting evening and night ahead for hpx, but more of that tomorrow. In the meantime I'm hoping the promised rain and southerly isn't brutal enough to leak into my back wall or roof area over the dormer windows upstairs. Not that it needs to be particularly brutal.... :-/

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.