Workmen.

First of all I heard the noise as they rocked up to the house across the road. Their throaty truck, and then the ladders as they threw them against the walls.

By the time I looked out the window, they were already kicking the tiles off the roof. So I gather they are going to put up solar panels.

They worked away for a couple of hours without too many problems, except their rubbish was blowing down the street. Then they seemed to disappear for an hour, must've been a late lunch.

Eventually, they came back at about three, and started work again, but this time with added loud music, from their truck.

I wasn't going to put up with that, so out I went, picking up some of their rubbish on the way.

'Can you turn that down?', I didn't say please, and threw their rubbish on the ground.

'Yeah, alright.' Came the grudging reply, and the music went off.

I might have to put up with music from my neighbours, but I'm not going to from workmen as well, especially, on my day off.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.