Wetland Centre, not just for birds

After a morning of work, I decided to head out into the what was left of the daylight. I spent a couple of hours walking around the London Wetland Centre watching the birds settle down for a night's roost. I was very taken by the white, decadent smews and the curious maned geese that came right up to me and tried to graze my boots. I was rushed by a Hawaiian goose, but luckily there was a fence between me and him, but he stuck his head out between the fenceposts and glared at me until I went away. The Eurasian cranes were staring intently at a couple of wetland centre workers on the other side of their fence and didn't want anything to do with me. Close by, a squirrel watched.

I treated myself to big pizza and garlic doughballs, with an apple strudel dessert. I wasn't just treating myself, to be fair, as Simon came over for the evening. We drank, ate, chatted and played Star Wars Battleships. Thanks Si for the good company.

Rodents spotted on blip today:
guinea pig

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.