Morph and Rolph Harris, with a pencil

I made it through the first day in the office and people were lovely. In the morning, I was fairly certain that I wasn't up to going to the Christmas party, but after lunch with a couple of my colleagues and my mounting curiosity of how Tate Britain was going to be turned into a party venue, I decided to join in the fun. I didn't have a fancy dress outfit, but I guessed that my desk buddy, who was brilliantly dressed as Morph, would have a clear shot at winning. He did indeed win the contest - yay!

En route to the Christmas party, I chatted to a lady who works in my office, but who I hadn't known anything about. It soon became clear that she'd worked at the same companies that I had and, in one company, had even worked at my desk as soon as I had left it. It's a small, small world that I work in. At the party, I was mainly chatting to folk who I spent my last Christmas party with at another company - we've all left and found jobs in different departments at this large company.

The Tate Britain was a great venue with amazing lighting. I was amazed that we were allowed to visit the Turner Prize. I was impressed by the whale by Lacy Skaer, but I admit that I wasn't overwhelmed by any of it. Nice to see it, though.

I caught the train home with a few folk who live nearby and my glasses were hijacked by some Marilyn Manson fans for an impromptu photoshoot. I'm glad my glasses were worthy of such hilarity!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.