Back to London

After a smooth ride on the Sleeper from inverness, I arrived in London during the early morning commuter time. Walking through St Pancras to catch my train home, I snapped this ice sculptor at work at the Eurostar terminal. An announcement said 'Due to the large numbers of travellers today, please check-in early'. Is today a particularly good day to leave the UK and visit France or Belgium?

Christmas is passing me by with the past 13 days being a time of sombre reflection rather than the usual build-up to Christmas (with the odd laugh or two connected with memories). Fred's staying in Inverness with his dad until after Christmas so I'm home alone with Whisky, Big Sid and Sybil. Auntie Fi looked after the pets very well and Big Sid is abscess-free (hooray!). Whisky befriended Fi more and more each day, which is really great. And even Sybil came out to be patted yesterday, which is a first. Visitors normally see her mop-like bum protruding from a bunch of straw.

Time to do some work, catch up with London friends, and try to sort out the back door, which WILL NOT OPEN no matter how hard I tug. Oh well. I'll ninja-jump my way out of the kitchen window to feed the birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.