Evening at the Beeb

Central London was all a-buzz this afternoon. During a lunch-time wander up through Covent Garden, I passed many groups of students bearing placards. Some were marching down the Strand, chanting tough words about Cameron and the Tories. The Strand was completely closed, with police vans at either side and helicopters buzzing in the skies. The afternoon in the office was filled with the background noise of loudspeakers, helicopters, chants and sirens. It wasn't the most relaxing of office environments. One of our team went down to join the protests and we followed her experience through her facebook feed. It sounded as though it started in good form, but come her comments around 9pm and she spoke about being kettled by the police. To the view of myself and several folk I spoke to, we're glad that people are seen to be taking a stand and don't take whatever happens without shouting about it.

I'm shouting at some other cuts - those hitting libraries. The Campaign for the Book is trying its best to highlight the plight of libraries and is spreading the word to gain support from all who cherish books and learning. Libraries are a precious resource, expecially for children, who can explore the shelves, find new authors and genres, and build a love of reading that could last for life. I remember vividly the times spent in my local library when a child and the excitement whenever I found a book that was full of a world I could lose myself in.

There are currently 113 libraries and 20 mobile libraries under threat - read more here.

Back to today and the evening found Fred and I meandering through the backstreets of London to the BBC Radio Theatre to watch the recording of The Now Show, which was hilarious. Hugh Dennis did his velociraptor impression - I love that bit. Indeed, he was on very good form.

After the show, the producer urged us not to go near Oxford Circus since there was some tussles there with protesters. So, we went north and east to Warren Street and saw no trouble at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.