If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Mayburgh Henge.

A desperation blip! If I felt conditions were difficult for photography yesterday today's were awful! Pouring heavy rain.

We had guests coming into the lodge today so I popped out to leave fresh milk and make sure everything was OK for them. On the way back I pass Mayburgh Henge and I thought, silly me, the atmospheric conditions may make for a suitably mysterious shot. Not a bit of it, why doesn't the camera see what they eye does?

So I parked up with the M6 about 3 or 4 yards away to one side and the Henge in the field across the road. I trudges up the "earthworks" (more of that later) and across the 0.6 hectare (1.5 acre) enclosure took a few quick shots, got wet and trudged back. The day was distinctly monochrome so that is what you get.

Mayburgh Henge is Neolithic approx 4500 years old. A large enclosure surrounded by "earthworks" between 10 and 20 feet high. Except the earthworks aren't earth they are stones gathered from the nearby river which I am told is unusual. There is a standing stone in the centre of then closure about 8 or 9 feet high. The entrance shown in the shot looks out towards King Arthur's Round Table (but that is another story for another day).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.