Ulverston

Between October 1990 and March 1991, in the period immediately prior to the birth of my first daughter, I worked in Barrow-in-Furness. The work was good but the weather was dreadful and I remember that every lunchtime I would play a game involving a handful of pennies with my colleagues, Rob and Roger, to see who would venture out in the wind and rain to fetch lunch from Marks & Spencer.

And each day, on my way to and from Barrow, I'd pass through Ulverston. Much like Ingleton, it's easy to miss the charm of the town as you pass through its southern edge on an A road and I don't know how many years went by before I actually visited it properly. When I did, I found that it has a Laurel and Hardy museum, which is a consequence of the fact that Stan was born there.

Today we had to venture across to Ulverston as Dan and Abi were in a brass band competition at the Coronation Hall. Just outside is this pair of statues. I'm not sure if you can see from the photo but there faces are marvellously expressive. (While I was taking the picture, Dan couldn't resist a photobomb.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.