The Queen's Terminal

I don't have anything against the Queen, really. She seems to take her job a lot more seriously than a lot of public figures and she's hardly unique when it comes to being disproportionately privileged and wealthy compared with most of the country.

But I do object to a system - monarchy - whereby some people are deemed to be better, more important simply by accident of birth. It's built into our para-constitutional state that some of us will be born better than others.

And I think this is directly responsible for a cultural mentality that leads to us having such a dreadful record for social mobility. More than in any other equivalently developed country, if you are born poor here, you'll stay poor. And I think that's become worse over the last five years.

Anyway, the reason I'm saying all that is that I'm a bit disgruntled that the revamped Terminal 2 at Heathrow is being called the Queen's terminal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.