Fire at work

When the alarm sounded on campus this morning at 10:25 we all assumed that it was for a fire drill. We hung around outside for a short while, expecting to be let back into the building at any moment, when a couple of people said that they could smell smoke. Then we all saw it.

Before long we could hear the sirens of the emergency services and it became clear that it would be some time until we could return to our work. I wasn't prepared to wait in the cold for another hour and a half, when an update on access to the building was due to be issued.

I blipped the fire engines on Colinton Road before summoning Mr hazelh to fetch me home in the car. I needed a lift because I had no coat, no money, and no house keys on me. I will work at home this afternoon.

Exercise today: morning running loops in 26'50", sit-ups and weights, then walk to work (1 hour).


**Update** There's a report of the fire on the Scottish Fire Service web site. It sounds like it was a rather unusual incident. It's nice to see the University praised for how it handled the evacuation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.