Advancement and Development

9 years ago, my eldest son asked if he could "try" rugby.

I investigated and enrolled him in Kinross Cougars Mini Rugby, fully believing my gentle almost 5 year old son would soon give up this rough game....

How wrong I was!

A few weeks ago, Calum received a letter from the SRU (Scottish Rugby Union) telling him he had been selected for a regional skills development camp.

About 60 boys gathered at St Andrews to be coached and assessed in their rugby skills.

The first day was a bit of an eye opener I think as some of the boys are very talented and VERY strong. He took a crunching blow to his ribs near the end of the day and I arrived to see him walk over the muddy pitches with an ice pack held to his side...
"I've NEVER been tackled like that before" was his comment.
(He was more interested in the attending paramedic being from Toronto than taking further pain relief though!)

On the plus side, he seems to have learned loads and has had a huge ego boost.

As his mum, I am slightly nervous about this advancement in his playing but obviously very proud of his achievement.

With 2 of his team mates being selected for this camp and another two from his school being selected for other teams, the mini rugby system has obviously much to be proud of.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.