Moschatel

Today did not start well, I was supposed to be going on a little Blipette with Historian31 but as I walked out to my car I realised my left rear tyre was flat as a pancake!!!! Mr U&L changed it for me, but I didn't dare to go far until it was mended just in case I got another flat! Still all's well that ends well, and it is mended now, and our blipette has been rescheduled for next week.
I took a lot of wildlife shots today mainly of small bees, and wild flowers.
Later in the afternoon I went to Wimland hill to look for Orange tip butterflies, but didn't see any. I did however find this wonderful little plant growing in great profusion beside the road.
Moschatal Adoxa moschatellina is the sole member of the genus Adoxa. It grows throughout Europe, Asia and North America.
I have never found it very plentiful, but this maybe because the leaves are very similar to those of Wood anemone, and the flowers tiny and green and I may have overlooked it as a non flowering wood anemone plant.
There is a wonderful patch that grows in the wood at Woods Mill (Sussex Wildlife trust) and now finding this second thriving patch is wonderful.
The flowers may be tiny and green, but they are beautiful, the inflorescence consisting of 4 five petaled flowers facing horizontally, and one four petaled flower facing upwards giving it it's common names 'Five-faced bishop', and 'Townhall clock'.
I have chosen this shot of the 50 or so I took of it , because I like the bokeh, and I feel the subtle green colours of the hedgerow in the background set the beautiful delicacy of the flower off really well.
Enjoy

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.