LOVERS LOCKS

The sun shone brightly today so I decided to go to Newcastle. Even though it was sunny there was a fierce wind and a few squally showers.

As I was getting ready to go out Neil phoned and asked did I want to meet him for a meal in town. So we arranged to meet at 4pm. This gave him time to go for a 10 mile run - he's in training for the Edinburgh Marathon - and to then walk into town - which takes him 40 mins.

So before I met Neil I did a bit of shopping as well as getting my blip shot. I had heard about some " Lovers Locks " which had been placed on the High Level Bridge which crosses the River Tyne. So I decided to check them out. I walked across the bridge taking in the wonderful VIEW over the river. Found the locks and took this shot which shows the lovely blue sky and The Tyne Bridge in the background.

The padlocks, inscribed by couples and attached to fences or railings, are a familiar sight around the likes of Paris, Rome and Cologne. But now Geordie couples are leaving the romantic mementos on the High Level Bridge.

The basic, every-day padlocks, are inscribed with dates and initials of the couples, who are then supposed to throw their keys into the river as a statement of their ‘everlasting love’.

The new fad for leaving love locks is popular in Europe and has had a boost in recent years from Federico Moccia’s novel Ho Voglia di Te, which featured a couple doing it in Florence. It was then copied by romantic couples around the world. Some couples simply pen their names on novelty locks while others take on a more professional approach with fully engraved or painted designs.


Then I went to meet Neil and we made our way to Cafe Rouge. I had a voucher where you pay for one main meal and get the other one for £2.50. I was paying so I was glad to get the meal a bit cheaper. Neil had a huge burger with chips. I had salad with chargrilled chicken which I enjoyed very much.

After the meal Neil set off to walk home and I popped into Waitrose.

Just having a quiet evening watching TV.

Last evening the street light outside my house went off. So I filled in an online form to the Council telling them about it. This morning a cherrypicker thingy arrived and the bulb was replaced. This evening we have light. Great service from my local council eh..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.