THE BLACKSMITH'S NEEDLE

Usual shopping trip to Morrisons this morning with my friend Jan.  Weather was nice so I decided to go into Newcastle this afternoon.

I first got the bus to Gateshead and then another bus down to the Gateshead Quayside.  To add to my step count I then walked across the Millennium Bridge over the Tyne and then walked into the centre of town. 

Went to the Theatre Royal to collect a couple of tickets I had bought online.  I'm seeing 12 Angry Men in June and The Shawshank Redemption in October.  This is in addition to some shows I already have tickets for.  I did a bit of shopping in Wilkinsons before getting the bus home.

Neil came round after work and I cooked him his tea.  His usual meal of steak with cheesy mashed potatoes.  He seemed weary and has had an early night.

My blip shot is The Blacksmith's Needle which is situated on the Newcastle side of the River.  This forged steel sculpture was created by The British Artist Blacksmiths Association and was unveiled in 1997. It comprises of six layers, each layer relating to the senses - including the mysterious " sixth sense ". It was created from sections made at public " forge ins " held around the country. The items have a mainly maritime feel - a quadrant, a sun fish, a seahorse and a ship's wheel are just some of them.

Steps today - 10,254

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.