WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

La Lonja de la Seda, Valencia

The silk exchange in Valencia is a complex of late 15th/early 16th-century buildings. It has a splendid pillared exchange hall, but for my blip I chose this photo of an upper room where my first impulse was to lie down on the floor. Couldn't understand why no other camera-toting tourists were doing this -- I suppose they weren't blippers. I wasn't that satisfied with any of my touristy photos today, but this is the one I liked best when I took it, even if it didn't quite match my expectations when I looked at it on the computer.

Earlier, we visited the ceramics museum, which is the type of museum you can only appreciate with a guide, because the labelling is very inadequate. However, as you enter, one of the staff immediately offers you a guided tour in English or Spanish (we chose Spanish for the practice). It's housed in a palatial mansion owned by a family in the 18th and 19th century who had loads of money but absolutely no taste; most of it is in a ghastly rococo style, with the worst items in my opinion being Meissen porcelain furniture. There were some nice ceramics though, from prehistoric through to 20th century, including a few by Picasso.

We chose to visit Valencia today because the Spanish Met Office said it was going to be sunny and 23 degrees. So we were a bit peeved when we arrived to find 100% cloud cover and 17 degrees. It had cleared up by the time we came out of the museum though, so hopefully it will be fine tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.