Cully

By Cully

The best girly day of my life!

Wow what an ace day/night/morning. Woke up with a not too bad hangover and got ready for my next surprise. A Dutch market food tour with a fab company called Hungry Birds. Two girls and one very brave male photographer took us ten ladies around several markets where we sampled everything from Oysters to goose sausage to smoothies to peace soup and gluhwein to raw herring. My idea of heaven, I thought how jealous the boy would be. One girl who really is the opposite to a foodie, who when asked what her favourite food was replied "bread" we laughed, she explained "no I mean like nice bread with butter"'!! She still said how she had enjoyed it and got the fried fish down her neck at the last stop.

Stuffed to the brim we said our goodbyes and found the tram stop home. After about an hour of waiting for the tram we found out that due to The Summit being held in Amsterdam that day we had a public transport problem on our hands.

We eventually made it back and had time to pop into a coffee shop for a quick drink and to be scared alive by a huge fake spider dropping onto out table without warning. Only in Amsterdam. We were getting glares from two girls with a large spliff and a hash cake, we thought it was time to leave.

I knew I had an outfit to wear on the evening but was completely unaware of what was ahead for me. I was truly chuffed to bits and slightly relieved to see a safari outfit with a really cool hat. I looked ace! Everyone made such an effort, I was the game keeper (appropriate as we are going on safari for the honeymoon) and all the girls were my animals:

Claire (the best friend and amazing hen night planner, pictured): a leopard, along with Jo, Jode and Gem and Steph. Gem: a tiger, Charlotte (the most random and my favourite): a flamingo! Kerry: a zebra (stripy oss) and Rachel: a black panther.

A game of Mr and Mrs with videos of the boy answering questions on an iPad meant I had revealed far too much about myself and had drank half a bottle of apple sourz (my least favourite tipple) before leaving the hotel.

At the first bar we ordered cocktails and got started on ticking off a few tasks of our scavenger hunt. Next stop we sat outside a bar under blankets while stag dos, men with strap ons and men pretending to be called Simon in the hope to get a kiss from the game keeper kept us amused. The next bar, as soon as we arrived, started to play tunes from the jungle book and we danced and drank and laughed some more with yet another stag do in toe. Our final destination, if you don't count mcdonalds, was a club were we carried on dancing the night away, clambered onto podiums, dodged a woman who had pooed herself!!! and caused general mayhem!

I arrived back at the hotel with just my wise old zebra, my youngest leopard cub and a completely paralytic panther at about half five-ish but still found the energy to abuse a welsh guy in reception.

I don't know how I survived the night let alone remember it but it was an amazing day with fab friends.

I can't thank my bestest enough for all her efforts, hence todays blip photo. Xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.