Moments

By togrrrl

Remembering / Carrying them within me

Tonight was the night of the annual, giant extended family Chanukah party. All of us are descended from my great-grandmother who immigrated to Canada with her husband 100 years ago. We gather together once a year to eat lots, drink, eat some more and rekindle old acquaintances. There are about 50 of us now.

This time, my aunt asked us to bring stories about those of us who are no longer with us. I started remembering good times, funny quirks, my relatives so familiar and so much a part of who I am, like it or not.

I thought this simple list going back to a dim, distant horizon expresses how many have passed but are still remembered.

I was happy to realize that although my list is long, most of my family is still with me -- I hope for a really, really long time.

It was a happy party with all of the usual foods - potato latkes, menorah cookies, brisket, turkey, and an assortment of potluched goodies.

I made Kuku Sabzi, a fritatta like herb omlette. I got the recipe from Susan, the wife of an Iranian friend at work. She was a little surprised when I phoned to get the recipe this morning!

It was a big hit and here's the recipe. (It felt right to bring an Islamic dish to my Jewish family's feast!)

Kuku Sabzi

2 bunches parsley
2 bunches dill
1 bunch coriander
3-4 green onions, chopped fine
1 medium onion, ground fine
salt (a lot is good), pepper, 1 tsp turmeric
8-9 eggs
oil

Chop the herbs very fine. Chop the green onion separately. Grind the cooking onion. Mix the onions and herbs together with the eggs, salt, pepper and turmeric. I found it needed to be fairly salty.

Heat about 1/4 cup oil in a 12 inch pan - non-stick is good. When it's hot, put in the egg mixture and smooth it out. It should be about 3/4 inch thick - maybe a little thicker. Let it cook on high for a couple of minutes, then turn the heat to very low and put a lid on the pan. Cook on low for about 20 minutes, until the center of the egg is fairly firm to the touch.

Now comes the tricky part. Put a tray on the pan and flip the kuku over onto the tray. Put a couple more tsps oil in the pan, heat it up, then slide the kuku back into the pan, cooked side up. (good luck with this).

Now cook it for 15 minutes more over medium heat (I used medium low) without a lid.

Yummm. Serve with wedges of lemon. Susan sometimes puts barberries or walnuts in it.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.