WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Pieces of acer

I could have blipped Pirate Banana today but you were saved by my acer which I love for its changing and vivid colours. I'm looking forward to a more leisurely life again soon but in the meantime, there may be a few blurry days. Today is another one.

I went to see a good friend yesterday from my classroom teaching days who is the best KS1 teacher I know, Kate. Her ability to teach literacy is quite simply outstanding and I was picking her brains.

Why?
Because I had gone and agreed to teach a boisterous seven year old phonics.
Despite being fully booked.
Despite 7 year olds not being my everyday job.

Why?
Because I couldn't resist.

Why?
Because the boisterous, disenchanted boys in particular always make me want to hook them in to learning. My challenge! And my favourite part of teaching.

This took a few hours this afternoon to make sure I'd got it right. Kate assured me a pirate theme would start the tutoring off well. It did indeed. We had fun with a number of activities including sorting out real from nonsense words by walking the plank (a real plank) in the hallway, as well as writing about Pirate Banana (a real banana) before we opened him up to find out if he was indeed a pre-sliced banana.

Amazingly, he was!



(Shhh... Don't tell his mum he brought his moshi monsters with him in his pocket... It's our secret!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.