It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

Keep on Pedalling Don't Stop for the Hands of Time

It really wasn't a typical day!

Well, the start was typical with a run to work but that was the last relaxed moment of the day!

I sorted an expert for the BBC Health correspondent, had a random call from a guy who had fallen off his bike and broken his collarbone.....referral arranged to a top orthopaedic surgeon in less than an hour with minimal effort! There was one problem after another but simply by writing them down, then working on solving them just seemed to work! I had quite a few happy customers which left me feeling happy.

As soon as I left work, my throat started to hurt.....cold coming on just in time for my holiday. It was Keep Pedalling, my fav bike shop's 3rd birthday and I headed off to their party. Shona and Rich have carved out a wonderful niche in the market on the edge of the Northern Quarter. They don't really sell performance orientated bikes or brands that you'd typically find in the major chains. I got my lovely Soma from them. Although the bike market is growing like never before, it's still very challenging for small shops.

To compete with internet sites, they have to offer something very special. Shona and Rich have great knowledge and expertise, know their brands very well and give exceptional customer service. Cycling shops can be intimidating....and I've often seem female customers patronised. In some bike shops I'll be the one spoken to when I'm with Rosemary, even if she's the one buying. No wonder people prefer to use the internet! However, Keep Pedalling are welcoming to everyone and judging by tonight they have plenty of loyal customers.

I met some lovely, albeit slightly alternative people at the shop tonight. Loads of pizza had been ordered from Slice and I had a bit too much beer. I met the chaps from Surly, over from the USA, Bill a crazy dude who had some wonderful stories and quite a few other people who's names I can't remember. We all had a love of bikes in common, but I suspect that I was one of the few who ever wear Lycra and shave my legs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.