Return to the North

By Viking

St. Paul's Cathedral Dunedin

Had to head to Dunedin today for a meeting tomorrow. I would have had to set off way too early to get here so came for the night - and then decided to stay Friday night so I could explore.

I met up with one of the most phenomenal people I know.
My first year in NZ I was asked to teach through video conferencing. As I had se psychology in the UK and it was what my degree was in I decided to offer it as the subject of choice. It was all pretty ropey that first year - the technology of VC was new to is all (me and students) and teaching it to the NZ curriculum too. I had one very special girl from Dunedin in my class who just soaked up everything I taught. So much so that she wanted to go to Uni to do psychology.

Imagine my disappointment when she told me at the end of year 13 that she was taking a year off to travel! Imagine my surprise too when she asked if I could recommend some psych books to take with her in her travels.
Did I mention travels - not ordinary travels. Not this girl. She started off in Portugal with a his teasing job for the Louis Vuitton sailing team (her partner was working on the 3s race graphics for tv etc)
She got to travel all over the world with the team. It just couldn't stick at waitressing, instead heading up the 2d graphics for the company.
Great as this was I was still disappointed when she decided to take a second year off to do the same.

Finally she came back to NZ, enrolled at Massey to do her psych degree. Not content however to do just that she carried on with the graphics stuff, being involved with the Americas cup campaign at the same time as her degree! Full time distance degree that is!

After the Americas cup she settled down ha ha ha! She is now working as a part time copywriter as well as well as doing her psych degree - oh and she and her partner are writing software for education and have set up a business!

I am so honored to have known this girl and now consider her a friend as will as an ex student.

We met for the first time face to face tonight outside St. Paul's here!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.