Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Mowing the lawn

Today whilst I have been working at my desk, the GOG has been doing some gardening. Amongst other things, he has cut the upper lawn behind the house and in this picture he can be seen emptying the collector, which is beyond one of our larger borders in the orchard. This picture was taken through the kitchen window as I did not want him to realise it was being taken. The ride-on mower has not been used since last June as he has not been in a fit state to sit on it. When I cut the grass I use the petrol mower as I am not keen on this one and I always think it will topple over. The grass behind the house was so long we were having some problems finding Dougal and Florence in it. As you can see, the grass in the orchard is not that long; the rabbits and deer do a good job of mowing it for us. It is also probably too wet to be mown, at the moment, at least at the Western end of the orchard.

Once the mower started, Dougal was at the back door demanding to be let in; he then spent a long time sleeping on the bed. He obviously still remembers what happened to him in September 2012 and is not taking any chances! Florence was quite happy to stay outside, but then she has no reason to be afraid of the mower or my car

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.