The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Spring

The advance of Spring always takes me by surprise. Every day is different, even when the temperatures stay low, there are new things to be seen. This sycamore will soon be in full leaf. Our Amelanchier is in full blossom, its glory will last hardly more than a week if the weather stays fine, less if it pelts with rain. Today I saw the first stitchworts and cuckoo flowers. At last I saw a sand martin flying over the Kent. Perhaps tomorrow will bring the first willow warbler, and by the end of the weekend they will be everywhere.

Sorry that comments were off for a couple of days, and I haven't been commenting. Put it down to old age and decrepitude - somehow after a day's work and three Gus walks, I just haven't had the energy. What's more, what little flicker of creativity I had seems to have been blown out, and in the mornings I'm struggling to get up early enough for the magic light of early morning. Still it is Spring, and nobody's enthusiasm can be dampened for long, I'm feeling better just thinking of the joys to come.

A year ago, one of my favourite Gus blips.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.