Blip's most popular bird? - "Heronsue".

I was cantering through the thumbnails tonight & I think I must have seen half a dozen assorted Herons.

I used to have a "huntin' shootin' fishin" uncle, way back when. He shot goose one day ... Claimed it was so big he thought he'd shot a flying sheep when it hit the ground with such a THUMP.

He would, always, refer to a Heron as a "Heronsue". One day, as a kid, I made reference to a "Heron Sow" and had to be put right. Tonight I looked here, and lo and behold there it was, large as life...
"Heronsue/n. heron".

I think this one owes 100% to my aged bladder. While we were at Lowther castle the other day, there was a bloke from "Woodside Walled garden" so today we thought we'd have a look over the border.
As we neared Langholm, we both decided a swift stop was in order. A brew being low on the priority list I swung into a convenient Carp Ark in order to cock the old leg against the nearest tree.
Whilst I waited for Herself to emerge, I glanced riverwards and spotted this bloke/blokess lurking on the far bank.
On with the longer lens & down to the bank, where it obliged by sitting still while I rattled off a few, then s/he decided to either have a drink or take a fish too tiny to see. Damthing refused to take off and I didn't feel like molesting it just in case I could get a decent flying shot.

The river itself almost merited a shot on account of the name...
"Ewes Water".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.