Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

'Burbnight

I had a couple of half-decent possibilities ready as standbys from earlier in the day, but I'm so laid back since sorting out those nasty and long-neglected work deadlines and yesterday's lazy day that I finally decided to throw caution to the wind. Not content with posting my first-ever b&w effort yesterday, why not go the full hung-for-a-sheep-as-a-lamb thing, go for broke, and get the night shot out of the way while I'm at it?

Picture the scene: I'm watching The Insider on TV (excellent movie, great performance from Russell Crowe), I'm totally engrossed in it, an ad break comes on at 11.50 pm, two minutes later I'm standing in the middle of the road with the camera on a tripod and I'm fiddling with different exposure times to try to capture something reasonable before the witching hour. The time stamp on this shot is 23:52:44: no need to panic, loads of time to spare.

That's two bugbears out of the way. There's still a long way to go with nighttime stuff, but at least I've got the fear out of my system now. My dinky camera doesn't really come up to snuff, I think, so that's why I went for b&w again, since the noise is much less evident. So, from never a b&w before, suddenly it's two in a row. How weird is that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.