weewilkie

By weewilkie

A Way to be Happy

I was up early and out with my daughter this morning. She's off down to Troon to support a friend of hers who is fundraising for a big Malaysia trip later this year. My daughter needed cash (of course).
So, off I went and once I was no longer needed by her off she went. I decided to take a wee keek down at Glasgow Harbour to see what the light was like for a potential blip and as I strolled down, the sun feeling like good news on my face, this phrase popped into my head and I smiled away to myself. I love the way a smile opens a face to the surroundings, like the aperture on my camera, letting more light in.
The phrase itself is from a good Spanish friend of mine. I lived in Spain for 4 years and his friendship was one of the most precious things I returned to Scotland with.
He loves the outdoors. He loves to walk and climb the dry, sometimes snowy, Sierras of his country. He has a loveably daft sense of humour. He also loves sport, travelling abroad, cycling and photography.
He does this thing called a 'Raid' every October. It's basically a gruelling assault course over two days in the Sierras. It involves orienteering, running, swimming, cycling, archery, climbing, abseiling.. and a hundred things more. Himself and his team mates prepare for a good month or so in advance. They pour over maps of the area for potential routes, they scout the mountains for cheeky wee shortcuts.
One day, when I was in his flat teaching him English, I asked him did it not take up too much of his time? He replied that it is something that he loves to do. And then he said it, "It is a way to be happy". Ahh, my face, my heart, my soul opened like an aperture and snapped this phrase up.
A way to be happy. Don't we all need these things in our lives that sprinkle the day with joy and contentment. Too often we are already doing them but not paying them the respect they deserve. To be able to do the things you really want is such a gift. Such a simple and profound way to be happy.
I have found, just like this morning, that doing these blips are a way for me to be happy. I love taking photographs, and I love being able to express myself. I am happy, in my own way.

Onwards!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.