weewilkie

By weewilkie

a late late show

Half-awake in the night. Half submerged, wave after wave of traffic upon the shore of this room. Light flicker, a thought comes as a whisper. And the tide rises, gathers me in its dreaming. A guttering flame, the shoosh of the city sea breaking at my window. Suddenly weightless and sinking to the night logic of dream currents. Bright coral rippled by refracted light. The wee bright fish that you are...........

**

This bowl was one of the things that I did bring with me. It was designed as a wedding gift by a fine friend, and a fine artist. When the candles are lit I can feel him in the room.
We met in a Backpackers a looooong time ago. We were seperately doing a year's work in Australia while taking in other parts of the planet too. And in I walked: B6, Glebe Point Road, Sydney.
It was such a time of freedom. Drink and jasmine and jeeliwaas; flying foxes and mountain walks and cooking beans on a two bar fire; moon blankets and cat women and redbacks in the outhouse. All nonsense and exploration. Young and fearless. Of all the people I met way back when, he is the one that has remained a big part of my life all this time later. I think that says it all for our friendship.

Onwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.