Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Stalk Eyed Fly

I was starting to get nervous, as I had not been given the go ahead to travel to China, after getting so excited about the prospect. This morning 10:30 the call finally came. But now it is impossible to meet the clients start time of Monday, as the VISA office in Hong Kong does not open until Monday. So I could get to the job and they may say “Sorry, too late”. Also, they want me to do a trial period of 3 weeks. No self-respecting contractor would endure this shit, but I cannot afford respect and so have to give it a go. My agent said that he will make sure that I don’t lose out fiscally.

Not sure when my next blip will be or from where. I am in Bandung airport at the moment.

Early this morning, it seems that the blip monster knew I was leaving and gave me something special to finish on – a stalk eyed fly. I knew that these existed but in over two years I had never actually seen one.

I saw the mosquito sized fly on a leaf. Normally I would have ignored such a small bug, but not a great deal was presenting, so I put the macro on it. I could not believe the incredible sight that was waiting for me. Damn thing wouldn’t keep still and then a farmer walked by and scared it off for good. But I had collected a few shots of this marvel of nature.

Because of the bulky nature of the beast, and the diminutive size, you have very few options with focus. There would have been better choices of angle, but the opportunity did not present. Still, enough to wow you with this incredible accident of evolution.

I am now in Singapore. My onward flight is check-in at 03:30, so will be sleeping on the floor in the departure lounge tonight.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.